++++

1:45 p.m. - 07/06/2006
Hi Hi!
Hey! I almost fell over when I saw this active and it wasn't me! LOL! I like the Low Carb Diet you are descibing Kathy. I wonder how it compares with South Beach? I went from 172 pounds down to 123 by staying in ketosis but when I tried it a second time I think I was eating too many calories compared to the first time. After all I hadn't had a husband leave me lately and I was happy .. so I ate.

I haven't lost one pound for good since the beginning of the year. I was hoping to eat basically vegetarian and to exercise the fat off but then it rained for like two months and so the exercise fell by the wayside and I was snacking because I was still hungry and had cravings for something besides fruit so that failed.

I'm going to try to learn from my previous failures and one success. Low Carb has worked for me in the past but it is not a free pass to eat anything in any quantity. Also I need to eat more than 20 carbs a day or I meltdown.

I'm going to look into the good carb/bad carb controversy and meanwhile I'm going to try to just keep my diet at about 1300 calories and exercise by walking and biking more. I haven't read enough to do more than that yet but I can tell you this .. It feels so good to tell you guys this!

I'm Eating: water

___________________________________________________________________________

1:17 p.m. - 07/06/2006
hi hi
Welcome back Kathy. I guess I will write as well.

I am going with the -- 3 meals and 2 snacks a day plan. No restrictions on not having this or that.

Just fresh fruits and veggies and a protein of some sort with 2 of my 3 meals. Water, little to no sugar (except natural sugars in fruit and yogurt), only 1 form of caffeine a day and snacks in moderation.

Like today: fresh fruit salad in the AM with a yogurt, lunch was Corn and Green Chili Bisque soup (8 oz!) and dinner is going to be tilapia and a small side of spaghetti (I know it's weird but HB is in the mood for pasta!). My snack will be these yummy cookies for dessert: 2 of them have only 120 calories and 4 grams of fat -- they taste and feel like the tops of brownies!

Oh and of course, exercise. My new form? Swimming!

Yes, this from the girl who doesn't like chocolate...PMS time!

I'm Eating: shocker -- NOTHING!

___________________________________________________________________________

11:01 a.m. - 07/06/2006
Glycemic Load Diet
So, here's my anti-fatso plan: The Glycemic Load Diet.

Part Atkins, part I still get to eat some carbs.

Mostly it's a plan that diabetics should follow.

No more breads, no more potatoes, no more rice, no more crackers, no more cookies.

Except once in awhile. I'm not dead, I'm just fat!

I'm reading the book The Glycemic Load Diet by Dr. Rob Thompson (I think that's his name, book isn't nearby and I'm too lazy to get it because I'm pretty sure that's right).

He believes in Atkins to a point. According to him Atkins never updated his book that was first published in the 1970s (or 60s?) when he republished it in the 90s. Never mind the updated research done on low carbs and healthy hearts. Also, ketosis, which Atkins finds to be the be-all to his diet only makes a very minor difference in metabolism, therefore some carbs won't slow your progress beyond a teeny tiny percentage.

I'm going to see if there's some truth to insulin resistance that carbs create and my fatso-ness.

Let's see how this goes!

Check in ladies!

Kisses, Kathy

I'm Eating: an egg and some turkey sausage

___________________________________________________________________________

Previous + Next

Last Five Entries:

My WW Flaws + 10/20/2006
Weight Watchers Finally! + 09/11/2006
I'm still standing + 07/18/2006
Wishy Washy + 07/18/2006
High and Low + 07/13/2006

Diane's Ticker:

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com