++++

12:48 p.m. - 07/10/2006
Not There yet but Trying
I haven't really started yet. I had the drama of Ron & I went to six flags with my daughter so I was moving around too much and hadn't prepared. Now it's Monday and I have to say I wonder if the extremely low carb diet where I stayed under 20 carbs a day didn't encourage my osteoporosis. If not done right it can leach calcium.

So I have some hope for the Low Glycemic Diet as a compromise. I found several sites with lists of Low glycemic foods such as http://www.lowglycemicdiet.com/gifoodlist.html and I haven't done my food shopping yet. So I will finish off the food I have left over and then make a new shopping list.

Meanwhile I am keeping a running guestimate of calories in my head and trying to be good. For instance I bought a dozen eggs. After having one every day on Atkins I didn't think I'd ever eat another one but I did. So this morning I had one Jumbo egg on two slices of Wonder Bread's new Whole Wheat White Bread with some ketchup.

Guestimate 300 calories

Then I had two rice cakes (100 calories) and 3 celery sticks (20 calories?) and some baby carrot sticks (50 calories??) and for lunch I had a half a chicken breast from my grill (yum, and maybe 250 calories?) and a sugar free jello (Zero calories)

Running total = 700 to 750 ish

I still have a pickle and a diet cheese stick (one ounce for 50 calories) for afternoon snack and supper can be 3 or 400 calories and when all is said and done I betcha if I count and do better quantities I'm dang close to 1300 calories because the chicken may be 300 calories and I'm unsure of carrots and I have a quarter of a watermelon waiting to be eaten. Well, not all at once!

PS Kathy MorningStar makes a tasty egg substitute from egg whites if you are worried about cholesterol and not just sick of eggs. I used to have it with their bacon strips (soy stuff but tasty). It comes in omlette type styles like western. It may give you the break you are looking for.

I'm Eating:

___________________________________________________________________________

12:01 p.m. - 07/10/2006
my update
This weekend was fantastic eating wise. Except for last night...

I've been eating sugar-free (mostly), fruit and meat. I tried some hummus and pita and I didn't even want the pita. I guess I'm no bread now too. I've been eating lean meats and salads mostly. And I haven't gotten sick of it yet.

Well, when we left from dog and cat sitting on Saturday, all we'd eaten was some fruit for breakfast. I couldn't even eat the yogurt I was so full. It was 4p so we stopped on the road to eat...at one of our favorite places: Red Robin. I got a BLTA (blt plus avocado on a crossaint with mayo) that comes with fries. I ate it all, felt sick within that last bite, and was in the bathroom all night long.

No more bad food for me!

On another front, I have to wear an electical shocker and a foot split to bed every night to try to fix my foot before I go into SURGERY!! So far, I've gotten PT, 2 cortisone shots and heel cups and nothing has worked to heal both my tarsal tunnel (carpal tunnel for the foot) and planters fascitis (foot tendonitis). This is his last attempt before we talk surgery. The split stretches my foot at night and the sticker shocker (a very low "can't even feel it" voltage shock that I stick to my foot at night) sends a low voltage shock to the tendons -- it's supposed to work but if not, we have to talk surgery.

There goes working our for a while!!!

Today was a Kashi granola bar for breakfast (we ran out of fruit and I couldn't bring a yongurt to the Dr's appointment!). Lunch will most likely be a salad.

Happy Monday! I will be in Chicago on Wed-Fri so I have no clue what I'll be eating!

Still haven't weighed as I forgot to this morning (but also have my TOM)...
~Jenn

I'm Eating:

___________________________________________________________________________

9:02 a.m. - 07/10/2006
So Long Slug
I think this Low Glycemic Diet is working. But I'm not going to get excited about it until I'm down 10 pounds. Fingers crosse people!

What I am going to get excited about is the fact that my mid-afternoon slumps are less slumpy. Heck, on some days they're even non-existent!

Sometime around 2 in the afternoon I would feel like I was walking through water. Half asleep. I would love to lay down and take a nap. And lately, I'd been doing just that. A ten to fifteen minute crash.

But now the day will go by and I might not feel so tired until 4:30. And even then, I'm just a regular tired. Not a sluggish, walking through water kind of tired.

Is that what chips, crackers, rice and bread were doing to me?

I've been feeding my sweet tooth with a fistful of jelly beans. Only enough that I can fit my fingers around. And only right after eating a meal. That way the sugar won't send my pancreas into hypermode. The proteins from the meal before slow that process down.

What I need to work on this week is more food variety. Eggs for breakfast, sans a bagel, aren't something I want every dang day. I'll get ahold of some low-carb tortillas and make myself a breakfast burrito one day.

Yep. I need to do some research.

It's a good thing I like grilled meat! And hey, nothing wrong with a Taco Bell Taco Salad if you leave the tortilla bowl alone!

How are you gals doing?

Kathy

I'm Eating:

___________________________________________________________________________

Previous + Next

Last Five Entries:

My WW Flaws + 10/20/2006
Weight Watchers Finally! + 09/11/2006
I'm still standing + 07/18/2006
Wishy Washy + 07/18/2006
High and Low + 07/13/2006

Diane's Ticker:

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com